Day 4

I peed about four times last night. This is going to make for a grumpy girl this morning until I can get my coffee going. The good news is, I have two small successes to share. I’m down 3 pounds and I’m in ketosis.

Even though my strip shows small it was not my first pee of the day. I imagine I might be closer to moderate by now, but I’ll go with small for the moment. 

For those of you who are following my water challenge, you may know I am dieting also. I cannot tell if my 3 pound weight loss is due to the water, my diet, or both. Whichever it’s a great feeling.

The Atkins diet is the only night that has ever worked for me in my entire life. I’ve been doing it since I was in my late teens. My Mom used to do it and taught me how, and how to reach ketosis and stay there. I can reach ketosis in three days and drink. The stick above is proof.

I am now burning fat for fuel, which not only gives me the mental desire to keep my diet going and not cheat, but I know this is also going to provide energy for me so I’m not feeling so crappy all the time.

I am hoping it is darker tomorrow.

I am one of those lucky beings that are able to drink alcohol while on the Atkins diet. I drink dry white wine. Yes I realize this is sugar. Shut up. I don’t want to get into a wrestling match with anyone doubting my success. I drank a little over 1/2 of a bottle of white wine last night and yes I am in ketosis this morning.

I restrict the hell out of my carbohydrates and probably keep it to around 10 to 20 g maximum, every day.

This go around, I started cooking. What keeps me falling off the wagon all the time with this diet, is being so sick of the food. I made a few pretty yummy recipes that I’ve kept me on track.

Sriracha Beef Lettuce Wraps


http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2012/01/recipe-for-quick-sriracha-beef-lettuce.html?utm_content=buffer4b384&utm_medium=social&utm_source=pinterest.com&utm_campaign=buffer&m=1

I actually made these twice.

Beefy Cheesy Green Chile Bake


http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2015/01/beefy-cheesy-low-carb-green-chile-bake.html?m=1

Mashed Cauliflower and Sauerkraut Casserole


http://www.food.com/amp/recipe/mashed-cauliflower-with-sauerkraut-casserole-168170

Cucumber Salad with Fresh Dill and Red Onion


http://thecookiewriter.com/cucumber-salad-with-fresh-dill-and-red-onion/

Substitute sugar and use Stevia or Splenda

Stuffed Mushrooms with Cream Cheese and Sausage


http://homeremediesrx.com/2014/12/stuffed-mushrooms-cream-cheese-sausage/

Minus the bread crumbs.

Holy crap. I didn’t realize I have cooked a lot over these past four days. Whatever. After doing this diet 9 million times I cannot bring myself to having lunch meat or cheese right now.

So anyway regarding the water, I will tell you, I have absolutely noticed a difference that I woke up without a hangover. Previously, going so many days without water of any kind other than coffee and wine, any amount of alcohol I would wake up feeling like crap in the morning. Not today!

It is 7 AM on a Sunday morning and I feel pretty awesome. I’m a little tired because I didn’t sleep through the night but actually not near as bad as I normally would be.

Well anyway, that’s my update for the morning. I might even take my dog to the dog park today and get a little added exercise. Feeling pretty good people!

Subscribe to my blog if you’d like to see where this goes.

Author: jtreska

My name is Julie Treska. I am a 39 year old maniac, mother of 2, step-mother of 2, and wife, to one amazing husband, Micah. I am a sister, a friend, an acquaintance, a colleague, a neighbor... possibly an enemy, a threat, an ex, but one thing I am known for is being 100% real. This is one more of many blogs I've written in my life. Maybe one that I'll keep. It's going to be one giant cluster fuck, of what makes me, me. I am a divorcee', a parent, a woman, a cancer survivor, a divorce survivor, a survivor of many, many things. I am a cook, a writer, a motivational speaker, a pain in the ass, and an inspiration. I am career driven and successful. I am a one percenter, but run out of money every two weeks. I am funny, I am honest, I am raw, and unapologetic. I hope I am able to relate to many, entertain some, and envy a few. I am a bad ass in most everything I do.

Leave a Reply

